Throughout Frederick County, thousands of historic structures are scattered countywide, from the city of Frederick to smaller municipalities to the countryside in between.
There are many houses visitors can tour, including Rose Hill Manor, the home of Maryland's first governor, Thomas Johnson.
The house, which has been converted into a museum, also tells the story of Frederick County's agricultural and transportation history. It is at 1611 N. Market St.
Elsewhere in Frederick, the Schifferstadt Architectural Museum offers tours on weekends from 1-4 p.m. through Dec. 9.
Outside the city of Frederick, there are random historic properties located in more rural parts of the county. Near Point of Rocks, Lockhouse 28 serves as a reminder of the battle between the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal and the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad to reach the Ohio River Valley.
Some properties offer direct looks into the Civil War. That includes the Thomas Farm, located on the Monocacy National Battlefield southeast of the city of Frederick.
The farm has an historic brick mansion, which was built by Scottish merchant James Marshall around 1780. Some of the heaviest fighting at the Battle of the Monocacy on July 9, 1864 occurred near the house.
Further down the road in Urbana, the Landon House was recently restored. It was originally built in 1754 in Virginia, and then transported in 1840 by barge up to the Georgetown area, before traveling up the Potomac River to near Point of Rocks.
For more information, call the Frederick Visitor Center at 301-600-4047.