The Frederick News-Post welcomes news of honors, awards, recognitions and other accomplishments. Send an email to

Natalie Perez-Rodriguez, of Monrovia, and Macy Armagost, of Mount Airy, have been named to the president’s list for the fall semester at Miami University, in Oxford, Ohio. Paige Leidig, of Middletown, made the dean’s list.

The following area students were named to the dean’s list for the fall semester at Ohio University, in Athens, Ohio: Matt Geiger and Tessa Corio, of Mount Airy; Melody Goto and Daniel Mulcahy, of Frederick; Evan Schalon, of New Market; Joseph Kopp, of Middletown; Emma Hall, of Charles Town, West Virginia; and Annie Thomas, of Ijamsville.

Jahlil Jenkins, of Charles Town, West Virginia, made the honors list at Fairleigh Dickinson University’s Metropolitan Campus, located in Teaneck, New Jersey.

The following area students made the dean’s list for the fall semester at Rochester Institute of Technology, in Rochester, New York: Melanie Smedira, of Boyds, motion picture science program; Aaron Alenskis, of Charles Town, West Virginia and in the software engineering program; Lillie Kelley, of Charles Town and in the computer engineering program; Meghan Luebehusen, of Smithsburg, in the laboratory science technology program; Egan Frelich, of Adamstown, game design and development; Michael Farrell, of Middletown, mechanical engineering; Ryan Keeley, of Mount Airy, chemical engineering; Connor Switenky, of Frederick, computer science; Julia Hotaling, of New Market, media interactive development program; Alison Gagne, of Monrovia, engineering exploration program; Isabella Gould, of Frederick, chemical engineering; and Robert Gill, of Union Bridge, media arts and technology.

The following area students were named to the dean’s list for the fall semester at Widener University, in Chester, Pennsylvania: Elizabeth Heinz, of Woodbine, elementary education major; Luke Curran, of New Windsor, computer science; Dalton Slater, of New Windsor, accounting; Allison Rossman, of Frederick, nursing; and Madison Radnoff, of Mount Airy, chemical engineering/chemistry.

The University of Iowa’s newspaper, The Daily Iowan, was named Iowa Newspaper Association’s 2021 Newspaper of the Year, beating the Des Moines Register and every other professional newspaper in the state. Katherine Goodale, of Woodbine, was one of 10 Iowa students who were first-place award winners.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it clean. No vulgar, racist, sexist or sexually-oriented language.
Engage ideas. This forum is for the exchange of ideas, not personal attacks or ad hominem criticisms.
Be civil. Don't threaten. Don't lie. Don't bait. Don't degrade others.
No trolling. Stay on topic.
No spamming. This is not the place to sell miracle cures.
No deceptive names. Apparently misleading usernames are not allowed.
Say it once. No repetitive posts, please.
Help us. Use the 'Report' link for abusive posts.

Thank you for reading!

Already a member?

Login Now
Click Here!

Currently a News-Post subscriber?

Activate your membership at no additional charge.
Click Here!

Need more information?

Learn about the benefits of membership.
Click Here!

Ready to join?

Choose the membership plan that fits your needs.
Click Here!