Rochester Institute of Technology held virtual commencement exercises on May 8. Among the 4,000 graduates were Kiser Holiday, of Woodbine, an AOS in design and imaging technology; David Kelly, of Monrovia, a bachelor's in physics; Megan Werner, of Mount Airy, a bachelor's in metals and jewelry design; Robert Novak, of Frederick, a BS/MS in electrical engineering; and Patrick Campbell, of Frederick, a bachelor's in graphic design.

Andrew Bloch, of Mount Airy, is one of 45 resident assistants at Lebanon Valley College, in Annville, Pennsylvania, for this academic year. Bloch, a graduate of South Carroll High School, is pursuing a bachelor's degree in exercise science.

The National Society of High School Scholars selected Melissa A. Skaife, of New Market, to become a member of the organization. The Society recognizes top scholars who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, scholarship and community commitment. Skaife attends Linganore High School.

Sean Miller, of Thurmont, was named to the 2020 Dean's List at Union College, in Schenectady, New York. Miller is a member of the Class of 2022 majoring in electrical engineering.

The following area students graduated from Kent State University, in Kent, Ohio, in the spring: Dillon Denig and Steven Santa Maria, both of Frederick; and Charles Ronan, cum laude, of New Market.

Kylie Baker, of Frederick and a sophomore at McDaniel College, in Westminster, was awarded a Summer Intern Fellowship from the college's Center for Experience and Opportunity. Baker, who is planning to double major in environmental studies and political science, accepted a seasonal park ranger position with Cunningham Falls State Park as part of their new summer internship program in Thurmont. Wilson Clayton, of Mount Airy and a junior at the college, was also awarded a fellowship. A psychology major, Clayton conducted summer research at the University of Kentucky psychology department, in Lexington, Kentucky, assisting with comparative cognition research by studying animal behavior through operant conditioning and analysis. Clayton also serves as a Certified Medical Technician at Target Community and Educational Services.

Thomas Morris, of Braddock Heights, was named to the dean's list at Drexel University for the winter and spring 2020 quarters.

Sherricka Leslie-Velez, of Fort Detrick and an online student at Columbia College, in Columbia, Missouri, was named to the dean's list for the summer semester.

The following area students were awarded degrees on Aug. 8 from Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania: Ethan Barlow, of Mount Airy, cum laude with a bachelor's degree in computer science; Corina Grimm, of Keedysville, a BSBA in accounting; and Samantha Pearce, of Woodbine, a BSN, nursing.

Lauren Moore, a graduate of Boonsboro High School attending Saint Francis University in the physician assistant science program, is one of three Washington County students named recipients of the 2020 Frederic H. Kass III, M.D., Endowed Scholarship Fund. The other recipients are Alex Gwizdala, a graduate of Washington County Technical School attending the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, in the honors college, majoring in biological sciences in order to work in genetic research; and Diya Patel, a graduate of Williamsport High School who will be attending the University of Maryland, in the honors college majoring in biology and planning to become a pediatrician.

Rachael Strasburger, of Mount Airy, graduated summa cum laude with a master's in criminal justice 4+1 program in May as part of the Class of 2020 at Roger Williams University, in Bristol, Rhode Island.

The following area students are members of the Class of 2024 at James Madison University, in Harrisonburg, Virginia: Brendan Hess, of Damascus and a finance major; Gina Burge, of Boyds, undeclared; Ryan Lepeonaka, of Frederick, recreation management; Ryah Dempsey, of Frederick, health sciences; Faith Butler, of Frederick, communication studies; John Wilson and James Lockard, both of Frederick, sport and recreation management majors; Haley Stevenson, of Adamstown, elementary education; Ashleigh Dalgarn, of Ijamsville, nursing, Terance Cottrell, of Monrovia, psychology; Patrick DeBoy, of Mount Airy, computer science; Abbie Shorter, of Mount Airy, dietetics; Ashley Martin, of Mount Airy, arts and design; Hannah Ratchford, of Mount Airy, nursing; Emily Griffhorn, of Mount Airy, statistics; Kaitlyn Walker, of Mount Airy, undeclared; Matthew Schiller, of New Market, finance; Jordan McGill, of New Market, finance; Alexis Murray, of New Market, international business; Savannah Black, of New Market, international business; Madison Ashbaugh, of Smithsburg, biology; Ryley Bolyard, of Walkersville, dietetics; and Braeden Murphy, of Woodbine, marketing. 

The Frederick News-Post welcomes news of honors, awards, recognitions and other accomplishments. Send an email to

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it clean. No vulgar, racist, sexist or sexually-oriented language.
Engage ideas. This forum is for the exchange of ideas, not personal attacks or ad hominem criticisms.
Be civil. Don't threaten. Don't lie. Don't bait. Don't degrade others.
No trolling. Stay on topic.
No spamming. This is not the place to sell miracle cures.
No deceptive names. Apparently misleading usernames are not allowed.
Say it once. No repetitive posts, please.
Help us. Use the 'Report' link for abusive posts.

Thank you for reading!

Already a member?

Login Now
Click Here!

Currently a News-Post subscriber?

Activate your membership at no additional charge.
Click Here!

Need more information?

Learn about the benefits of membership.
Click Here!

Ready to join?

Choose the membership plan that fits your needs.
Click Here!