Grayson Rule, of Frederick, was recently inducted into Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society at Lebanon Valley College, in Annville, Pennsylvania. Rule is a graduate of Tuscarora High School and is pursuing a bachelor’s in political science.

Andrew Pyne, of New Market, was inducted into the Delta of Maryland Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa national honor society at McDaniel College, in Westminster.

The following area student graduated from the University of Tampa, in Tampa, Florida, on May 9 in a virtual commencement ceremony. Selin Bolayir, of Boyds, graduated cum laude with a bachelor’s in international business — management. Conner Greene, of Frederick, graduated with a bachelor’s in design; and Mary Mayer, of Frederick, graduated with a bachelor’s in psychology.

Alexander Bloch, of Mount Airy, was recently recognized the Student Affairs Leadership and Service virtual awards at Lebanon Valley College, in Annville, Pennsylvania. A graduate of South Carroll High School, he is pursuing a bachelor of science and doctor of physical therapy in exercise science and physical therapy. Bloch received the Outstanding Community Builder of the Year award, honoring the Resident Assistants who were successful in building a strong community.

The following local students were recognized by Lebanon Valley College with Gold Community Service Awards. Sarah Durham, of Middletown, a graduate of Middletown High School, pursing a bachelor’s degree in biology; and Sarah Bruchey, of Middletown, also a graduate of MHS, pursuing a bachelor of science and master of science in psychology and sociology and clinical mental health counseling.

Anna Marie McClain, of Smithsburg and a graduate of Middletown High School, is one of 10 Lebanon Valley College students named to the Middle Atlantic Conference’s Spring Sportsmanship Team. McClain is a member of the softball team and is pursuing a bachelor of science and doctor of physical therapy in exercise science and physical therapy.

Sherricka Leslie-Velez, of Fort Detrick and an online student at Columbia College, with a campus in Columbia, Missouri, was named to the dean’s list for the spring semester.

Deborah Afolabi, of Walkersville, earned the Ed Flagg and M. Cornelius Trayes Award in Journalism: Photography and Layout, and the Professor Clyde Harding Award for Outstanding Scholarship in English and Communications. Afolabi is studying communications/public relations and advertising at Albright College, in Reading, Pennsylvania, and is a graduate of Frederick County Career and Technology Center. Tomas Reyna, of Frederick earned the Julia Award. Reyna is studying political science at Albright and is a graduate of Frederick County Career and Technology Center.

Josh Dyson, of Frederick, graduated with a bachelor’s degree in communication from Avila University. Dyson and the other members of the Class of 2020 will be honored at a reception during the fall homecoming week at the university.

A student at Bridgewater College, in Bridgewater, Virginia, Clara O’Connor was presented the Excellence in Leadership and Service award for demonstrating excellence in leadership, character and service. O’Connor is a senior family and consumer sciences major on the human development and family studies track and a concentration in child development and family life education. During the 2019 fall semester, O’Connor, the daughter of P.J. and Jodi O’Connor of Mount Airy, completed an internship with the Central Shenandoah Valley Office on Youth in Waynesboro, Virginia. She has served all four years as a student assistant for the department of health and human sciences. For the past three years, she has served as co-president of the Family and Consumer Sciences Student Unit. She has volunteered at the Bridgewater Retirement Community and did mission work in the Dominican Republic with Aletheia Church in Harrisonburg, Virginia. Following graduation on May 2, O’Connor began a full-time position as retreat manager with Shepherd’s Spring Outdoor Ministry Center in Sharpsburg. She spent the past three summers at the camp as a counselor through Bridgewater College’s Summer Christian Experience Scholarship program.

Sheba Gordon, of Frederick, received a bachelor’s degree in technical communication from Minnesota State University, in Mankato, Minnesota. Commencement was celebrated via a special website. Each graduate also received personalized URL video messages by email on May 9, and “commencement-in-a-box” packages were shipped to each graduate the week before graduation.

Jackson McGill, of New Market, has been named to the dean’s high honors list for the spring semester at Marietta College, in Marietta, Ohio.

The National Christian College Athletic Association recently recognized Douglas Flynn, of Libertytown as an NCCAA Scholar-Athlete. Flynn is a member of the track and field team of Bob Jones University, in Greenville, South Carolina.

Tyler Jessee, an intelligence and national security studies major at Coastal Carolina University, in Conway, South Carolina, was a winner of the 2020 Student Involvement and Leadership Awards. Jessee is from Thurmont.

Antonio Bianchini, of New Market, received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Mars Hill University, in Mars Hill, North Carolina. The university has scheduled its commencement ceremony for the Class of 2020 for Oct. 4.The Frederick News-Post welcomes news of honors, awards, recognitions and other accomplishments. Send an email to

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it clean. No vulgar, racist, sexist or sexually-oriented language.
Engage ideas. This forum is for the exchange of ideas, not personal attacks or ad hominem criticisms.
Be civil. Don't threaten. Don't lie. Don't bait. Don't degrade others.
No trolling. Stay on topic.
No spamming. This is not the place to sell miracle cures.
No deceptive names. Apparently misleading usernames are not allowed.
Say it once. No repetitive posts, please.
Help us. Use the 'Report' link for abusive posts.

Thank you for reading!

Already a member?

Login Now
Click Here!

Currently a News-Post subscriber?

Activate your membership at no additional charge.
Click Here!

Need more information?

Learn about the benefits of membership.
Click Here!

Ready to join?

Choose the membership plan that fits your needs.
Click Here!