Petty Officer 2nd Class Alex Pinterits

The Frederick News-Post welcomes news of honors, awards, recognitions and other accomplishments. Send an email to

A Frederick native is serving aboard USS Alaska, one of the world’s most advanced nuclear-powered submarines. Petty Officer 2nd Class Alex Pinterits, an Oakdale High School graduate, joined the Navy five years ago. He serves as an electrician’s mate (nuclear).

Home Helpers of Martinsburg, West Virginia, Hagerstown and Frederick announces that Candy King has been nominated for the Home Care Association of America 2021 Caregiver of the Year award. This national program recognizes the top caregivers across the country who provide care and services at home, such as assistance with bathing, dressing, and medication reminders, to seniors and the chronically ill. The top caregiver will be announced in November to kick off National Home Care Recognition Month, and will receive a cash award of $1,000.

Austin Shapiro, of Ijamsville, performed in “2001: A Choral Odyssey” at Albright College on Oct. 9 as a member of Lion Chorale and Roaring Lions. A graduate of Oakdale High School, Shapiro is studying fashion and theater at Albright, in Reading, Pennsylvania.

More than 550 cadets, active duty and veteran students wear The Citadel class ring as rings were presented Oct. 1 on the campus on Charleston, South Carolina. Local cadets who received their rings include Joseph Goline, of Frederick; William Lee, of Mount Airy; Richardo Henriquez, of Harpers Ferry, West Virginia; and David McBain, of Damascus.

Paul Fitzpatrick, of Frederick, has been promoted to assistant professor of American Sign Language at McDaniel College, in Westminster. Fitzpatrick. who hold both a bachelor’s degree in Deaf Studies and a master’s degree in Sign Language Education from Gallaudet University, has served as an American Sign Language lecturer at McDaniel since 2016.

Corinne Kearney, of Mount Airy, is one of seven Lebanon Valley College student-athletes to receive a weekly award for recent athletic performances. Kearney, a member of the field hockey team, was named Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Defensive Player of the Week for the week ending Oct. 18. Kearney totaled 13 saves in three games while allowing just two goals for the Flying Dutchmen of LVC, in Annville, Pennsylvania.

The following local students made the dean’s list for the summer term at University of Maryland Global Campus: Frederick: Scott Barnett, Antoinette Simms, Jennifer Imbach-Schmitt, Marvin Jose, Lidia De La O, Joseph Hamelin, Irinia Bozhenko, Anthony Proctor, Jeffery Palmer, Renee Barnes, Elizabeth Gonzalez-Escalante, Natalie Proctor, Kristina Sikowitz, William Pullen, Banessa Silva, Haley Dilley, Timothy Heiss, Jasmine Jarmon, Jeffrey Cheak, John Murphy, Nichole Shields, Abagail Mann, Brooke Hersey, Julia Seymour, Caridad King, Sean Turner, Yessira Boyd, Keon Hackshaw, Karina D’Abbraccio, Sara Turner, Joseph Gallo, Kevin Forkin, Tina Cole, Dayi Abbevi, Varsha Ravichandran, Sam Drumheller, Alberto Carrillo, Amand Braun, Jose Coronado, John Magerowski, Bryan Ramundo, Cassandra Salameh, Brooke Rollins, Michael Sotogomez, Marc Colburn, Anthony Lerwick, Garrett Smith, Jonathan Allen, Faith Kamanu, Diana Alas, William Maroulis, Omeika Graham, Nina Kathrina Vinoya, Theresa Brown, Corey Owens, Rimsha Fiaz, Donnell Blakey, Joshua Kless, Rashaad Bell and Katherine Kemp.

Also, from Monrovia: Robert Edwards, Karin LaRochelle, Kellie Hawkins, Anand Kumar and Cindy Alban; Mount Airy: Tammy Besser, Timothy Alcott, Janet Herd, Johnathan Ingle, Lerani Aljarboua, Cristin Simons, Devin Meehan, John Dirndorfer and Taylor Sraver. Middletown: Amy Sawyer, Emily Williams, Charlotte Anderson, Regis Gamble and Stanley Mharadze. Woodbine: Brian Kilheffer, Rebecca Adam, Brandon Macer, Anna Letaw, Georgi Blackburn, Phoebe Flowers and Clay Nichols. Emmitsburg: Kathryn Price. Libertytown: Jason Cressman. Poolesville: William Milam, Deniz Tuzmen and Michael McGrew. Point of Rocks: Shannon DelRosario, Robert Hoskins, Ryan Bird and Robert Simmons. Clarksburg: Ramzy Haddad, Bernard Woadzro, Rebecca Medley, Michelle Ashafa, Sangduk Lee, Zephani Funes, Robert Campbell III, Kashifiya Arteaga, Precious Parham, Christina Joppy, Michaela Hiles, Ciana Yu, Nina Kalkbrenner, Kusum Girl, Kristen Nguyen, Ronald Crawford, Alessia Denhard, Ariella Rice and Michael Moreno.

And from Walkersville: Melanie Weintraub, Kayla Rafferty and Janice Smith. New Windsor: Joseph Richardson and Mary Macklin. Boyds: Michael Rush, Kevin Nicastro and Joshua Turbyfill. Jefferson: Conner Naughten, Rachael Termohien and Margaret Kuttner. Thurmont: Kathryn O’Neal, Brittini Fogle and Joseph Benn. Brunswick: Emily Thevenot, Misty Blank, Gail Disque, Ryan Paddock, Destini Anthony, Michael Nickles and Busola Olatunji. New Market: Olivia Burns, Shelley Wallace, Andrew Carpenter, John Sharpe, John Haines, Robert Cochran and Todd Johnson. Ijamsville: Jonathan Mundy and Jordan Smith. Damascus: Emily Rodriguez, Kira Harris, Cheyenne Gardner, Sean Patton, Carmita Gonzalez, Jacquelyn Schankin, Kelly Salvador, Lisa Adams and Bernice Corbin. Smithsburg: Michelle McClure, James Wagner and Hannah Semler. Adamstown: Marie Cline and Jeffrey Seabolt. Keymar: Kyle Bell. Darnestown: Ari Mazziotta, Joshua Anolik and Robert Augustin. Union Bridge: Lindsey Rippeon, Katlin Muller and Ashley Patterson. Woodsboro: Johnathan Dorsey and Nadine Kuster. Dickerson: William Jones. Knoxville: Jessica Taylor and Jami Nelson.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it clean. No vulgar, racist, sexist or sexually-oriented language.
Engage ideas. This forum is for the exchange of ideas, not personal attacks or ad hominem criticisms.
Be civil. Don't threaten. Don't lie. Don't bait. Don't degrade others.
No trolling. Stay on topic.
No spamming. This is not the place to sell miracle cures.
No deceptive names. Apparently misleading usernames are not allowed.
Say it once. No repetitive posts, please.
Help us. Use the 'Report' link for abusive posts.

Thank you for reading!

Already a member?

Login Now
Click Here!

Currently a News-Post subscriber?

Activate your membership at no additional charge.
Click Here!

Need more information?

Learn about the benefits of membership.
Click Here!

Ready to join?

Choose the membership plan that fits your needs.
Click Here!