Jaxon Harris

Jaxon Harris

The Frederick News-Post welcomes news of honors, awards, recognitions and other accomplishments. Send an email to community@newspost.com.

Jaxon Harris, of Walkersville, successfully completed four years of challenging academic, physical and professional military training, graduating from the U.S. Naval Academy, in Annapolis, with a bachelor’s degree in computer science and a commission as a U.S. Navy Ensign. He is a graduate of Walkersville High School. At the academy, Harris was a member of the intramural flag football team, JV squash team and the Midshipmen Black Studies Club.

Rachelle Rizkalla, of Darnestown, has been named to the winter 2021 quarter dean’s list at Palmer College of Chiropractic’s West campus in San Jose, California.

Madison Airey, of Mount Airy, was inducted into Phi Alpha Epsilon at Lebanon Valley College, in Annville, Pennsylvania. Airey, a graduate of Linganore High School, is pursuing a bachelor of science and doctor of physical therapy in exercise science and physical therapy.

The following area students were initiated into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi: Michael Spegele, of Frederick, at University of Louisville; Ruth Stuart, of Frederick, at Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania; and at University of Maryland, Baltimore Campuses, Aquilah Nixon, of Damascus; Elizabeth Lean, of Boonsboro, at Frostburg State University; Mark Breeding, Sara Clement, Christopher Daniel, Kevin Kidwell, Claire McNamer, Ryan Olson, Lauryn Reamy, Ashley Rush, Ann Jeanette Santos and Claire Thomas, all of Frederick; Ryan Hummel and Eiman Maryam, of Monrovia; Lexie Mathis and Madeline Ziegler, of Mount Airy; Emma Earnest, of Walkersville; and Gayle Chapman and Jane Kim, of Woodbine. And at Hood College: Bridget Plitt, of Damascus; Bashayr Alsharif, Crosby Blair, Bailee Brown, Allison Coposky, Thomas Darby, Jose Delcid, Guinevere Hodge and Karine Myers, of Frederick; Omar Aboul-Enein and Marhaennia English, of Gaithersburg; Michael Weyand, of Germantown; Maura Hevey and Greighson Rowe, of Hagerstown; Katherine Gull and Ilyssa Ramos, of Ijamsville; Sarah Murphey, of Keymar; Cailyn Barthlow, of Mount Airy; Danielle Bendorf and Jennifer Evans, of New Market; Autumn Feeser, of Taneytown; Aileen Romsburg and Madeline Subasic, of Thurmont; and Nina Carr, of Walkersville.

Taylor Seitzinger, a secondary education major from Frederick, is the recipient of a Dr. Oliver S. Ikenberry Award for Human Service at Shepherd University, in Shepherdstown, West Virginia. Seitzinger received a $250 cash award.

Hunter Yusko, of Frederick, was awarded the Alpha Lambda Delta 2021 Senior Certificate at the honors convocation at the University of Mount Union, in Alliance, Ohio.

Jillian Michael Kolesar, of New Market, has received the SUNY Oneonta 2020-2021 Susan Sutton Smith Award for Academic Excellence. Kolesar is majoring in digital and studio art at SUNY Oneonta, in Oneonta, New York.

Destiny Amaya Marie Dixon has received the 2021 Outstanding Student Award in recognition for her academic achievement in the communication program at Robert Morris University. Destiny has also been awarded her sixth Deans Scholar for spring 2021. She is a junior at Robert Morris University, Moon Township, Pennsylvania. Destiny is from Frederick and is a 2018 graduate of Gov. Thomas Johnson High School.

Grace Mazaleski, of Emmitsburg and child of Carlton Mazaleski and Lisa Mazaleski; and Chloe Goodie, of Middletown and child of Patricia Goodie and Charles Goodie, made the dean’s list for the fall semester at Furman University, in Greenville, South Carolina.

Alexei Severnyak, of Frederick and a cadet and student at The Citadel in Charleston, South Carolina, was awarded a Gold star for achieving a 3.7 GPA and was placed on the dean’s list.

Douglas Flynn, a senior pursuing a bachelor’s degree in engineering from Bob Jones University, in Greenville, South Carolina, was hired before graduation as a junior electrical engineer at Jacobs Technology Inc. in Severn, Maryland. Flynn is a resident of Libertytown.

Mackenna Krouse, from Mount Airy, was honored for her academic success as a scholar-athlete over the course of the past two semesters at Bloomburg University, in Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania. Krouse is a member of the women’s swimming team.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it clean. No vulgar, racist, sexist or sexually-oriented language.
Engage ideas. This forum is for the exchange of ideas, not personal attacks or ad hominem criticisms.
Be civil. Don't threaten. Don't lie. Don't bait. Don't degrade others.
No trolling. Stay on topic.
No spamming. This is not the place to sell miracle cures.
No deceptive names. Apparently misleading usernames are not allowed.
Say it once. No repetitive posts, please.
Help us. Use the 'Report' link for abusive posts.

Thank you for reading!

Already a member?

Login Now
Click Here!

Currently a News-Post subscriber?

Activate your membership at no additional charge.
Click Here!

Need more information?

Learn about the benefits of membership.
Click Here!

Ready to join?

Choose the membership plan that fits your needs.
Click Here!