Petty Officer 3rd Class Nicholas Kaminski

Petty Officer 3rd Class Nicholas Kaminski, a native of Mount Airy, is serving with the Viking of Electronic Attack Squadron (VAQ) 129, working with the Navy’s premier electronic attack aircraft at Naval Air Station Whidbey Island, Washington. Kaminski says he joined the Navy because of family tradition. Both of his grandfathers were in Naval aviation.

Sgt. 1st Class Rawle Munro, of Clarksburg, recently reenlisted to continue service with the Joint Force Headquarters, Army National Guard.

Widener University, in Chester, Pennsylvania, recently held its annual Alumni Awards event as part of homecoming weekend. Robert J. Hawley, of Frederick, was a recipient of the Geoghegan Alumni Citizenship Award. He served as the senior adviser of science at Midwest Research Institute Global, and as chief of the Safety and Radiation Protection Division at the U.S. Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases at Fort Detrick. Hawley is a registered and certified biological safety professional with the American Biological Safety Association International, and a former president of ABSA and the Chesapeake branch. He is also a member of American Society for Microbiology and New York Academy of Science.

Junior Rebecca Duke, of Ijamsville, scored the only goal of the game late in the third quarter Saturday afternoon for Lasell University, in Newton, Massachusetts, for a 1-0 victory over Regis College in a Great Northeast Athletic Conference field hockey game.

Alisha Pelkey, a senior dance major from Woodbine, participated in the annual Faculty and Guest Artist concert on Oct. 20 at Slippery Rock University, in Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania.

Joshua Fleisher, of Frederick, received a bachelor’s degree in engineering, majoring in manufacturing engineering, from Miami University, in Oxford, Ohio.

The following area students were awarded scholarships from the Shepherd University Foundation, Shepherd University, in Shepherdstown, West Virginia: From Frederick: Matthew Anderson, Foundation Music Scholarship; Kyle Colliflower, Walker H. Shipley Music Scholarship; Katherine Fetting, Foundation Music Scholarship; Kasey Fleagle, General Scholarship; Sara Hohn, Burkhart Legacy Trust Scholarship, William E. Moler Scholarship; Ashlee Leshinski, Charles Woodward Scholarship; Haven Silvio, Thorn Rice Memorial Scholarship; Jessica Stottlemyer, C. Brown and Hazel Hendricks Scholarship, Maria T. Vaughn, Dr. I.O. Ash Scholarship, Sallye Price Memorial Scholarship; Samantha Vaughn, Mary Jane Davis Scholarship.

From Jefferson: Matthew Bolingbroke, William E. Moler Scholarship; Ryan Dinges, Burkhart Tuition Scholarship; and Andrew Wanger, John Phillips Economics Scholarship. From Middletown: Astrid Carolina Cordero Nieves, Zoe Haines Walker Seale Scholarship, John and Anna Egle Memorial Scholarship, Brickstreet Scholars Program; Sean Daly, Jonathan Paul Daily Scholarship; and Tyler Leighton, Carl K. Rauch Nursing Scholarship.

Monrovia: Margaret Clugston, Carl K. Rauch Education Scholarship. New Market: Sianna King, Foundation Music Scholarship; Thomas Lang, Basketball Scholarship, Rams Court Basketball Scholarship, Moler General Scholarship (Athletic), James and Sharon Brown Scholarship. Thurmont: Sabrina Poore, Burkhart Tuition Scholarship, William E. Moler Scholarship, Rissler Presidential Scholarship. Walkersville: Emma Bernardoni, Burkhart Honors Scholarship, Lynne and Don Cosner Scholarship, Thomas Reynolds, Jr. Scholarship; Isaac Cheston, Foundation Music Scholarship; and Kyle Daggett, Ray E. Harris Scholarship. Woodsboro: Joshua Polce, Marguerite Colavecchio Scholarship.

The Frederick News-Post welcomes news of honors, awards, recognitions and other accomplishments.Send an email to community@newspost.com.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Engage ideas. This forum is for the exchange of ideas, insights and experiences, not personal attacks. Ad hominem criticisms are not allowed. Focus on ideas instead.
Don't threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
No trolls. Off-topic comments and comments that bait others are not allowed.
No spamming. This is not the place to sell miracle cures.
Say it once. No repeat or repetitive posts, please.
Help us. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.