Frederick County Public Schools announces winners in the 38th annual Frederick County Science and Engineering Fair, one of only seven Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF)-affiliated events in Maryland. Hosted at Tuscarora High on March 30, the fair featured 114 projects that more than 140 students representing 26 middle and high schools entered.

The overall grand prize went to home-schooled student Abigail Haffey for her project, “Mutagenesis of the ID2 Promoter.” The runner-up was Urbana High School student Joshua Yu for his project, “Synthetic Virus-Like Particles: The Future of Targeted Drug Delivery.” Abigail and Joshua will represent Frederick County at the ISEF in Phoenix, Arizona. Urbana students Charlotte Hively and Soujanya Viswanathan qualified as high school ISEF student observers.

At the middle school level, Urbana students Shloka Tambat and Rachael Thyparambil earned the grand prize for their entry, “Biodegradable Plastics.” The runner-up was Middletown Middle student Thomas Sova for “The Science of Sound.” The following students were named Middle School Broadcom MASTERS, eligible to compete nationally in the Math, Applied Science, Technology and Engineering Rising Stars event: Alyssa Davies, Taylor Elder, George Julias, Abhinav Inavolu, Thomas Sova, Priyanka Subramanian, Shloka Tambat, Yashita Thalla, Rachael Thyparambil and Pragna Yalamanechili.

High School Design Champions were Urbana students Leila Ghaffari in Observational/Theoretical Design, Charlotte Hively in Engineering Design, and Tuscarora student Madison Santizo in Experimental Design. Middle school design champions were Windsor Knolls student Karthik Muthukkumar in Observational/ Theoretical Design; Urbana students Akhil Neelagiri and Thushan Ranasinghe in Experimental Design, and Oakdale student Pragna Yalamanechili in Engineering Design.

Earning Exemplary Non-Mentored High School Project Awards were the Urbana team Charles Giglio and Jorgen Miller, and students Charlotte Hively and Sanjana Subramanian.

The following earned awards as noted in first through third place and honorable mention in the specified categories at middle and high school levels:

Animal Sciences: (middle) first-place team: Jenna Lakin, Emily Smalt and Alyssa Slimmer (Middletown); second place: Reagan Ochoa (Lucy School); honorable mention: Arno Carrera (Friends Meeting School).

Behavioral and Social Sciences: (middle) first place: Taylor Elder (Urbana); second place: Monica Nader (Urbana); third place: Sanjana Ranasinghe and Aleena Sohail (Urbana); honorable mention: Kaylie Musard (Walkersville)

Biochemistry: (high) first place: Joshua Yu (Urbana); (middle) honorable mention: Sruti Nandanavanam (Urbana).

Biomedical and Health Sciences: (high) tied for second place: Leila Ghaffari (Urbana) and Sanjana Jha (Gov. Thomas Johnson); tied for third place: Julia Bui and Soujanya Viswanathan (both from Urbana); (high) honorable mention: Hritaal Saha (Urbana); (middle) first place: Alyssa Davies (Urbana); tied for second place: Mira Deni (West Frederick) and Brady Koenig (Mother Seton School); third place: Rohit Chintala (Urbana); honorable mention: Mishani De Silva (Crestwood), Rahma Kahan (Ballenger Creek), Karthik Muthukkumar (Windsor Knolls), Christine Ryan (Friends Meeting School).

Biomedical Engineering: (middle) first place: Pragna Yalamanechili (Oakdale); second place: Manasi Tanikella (Urbana).

Cellular and Molecular Biology: (high) first place: Abigail Haffey (home schooled); tied for second place: team of Alexis Adkins (Francis Scott Key High in Carroll County) partnered with Jacqueline Chung (Urbana), and Simeon Nelson (Urbana); tied for third place: Surabhi Bhat (Middletown) and Margaret Zhu (Urbana); honorable mention: Bishoy Ibrahim (Frederick); (middle) honorable mention: Regan Byrd (Ballenger Creek).

Chemistry: (middle) tied for first place: Abhinav Inavolu and Mona Kurian (both from Urbana); second place: Dinesh Ganesan (Urbana); third place: Agaana Pathmathevan (Urbana); honorable mention: Mackenna Bonney, Kaylee Franklin and Aly Mueller (Middletown) tied with Joanna Genemans (Thurmont)

Computational Biology and Bioinformatics: (middle) first place: Priyanka Subramanian (Urbana).

Earth and Environmental Sciences: (high) first place: Alec Atwell (Tuscarora); second place: Ian Emanuel (home schooled); honorable mention: Wyatt Payne (Catoctin); (middle) first place: Aarushi Kariveda (Urbana); second place: Nicolas Piermarini (Urbana); third place: Idhaya Chezhian (Urbana).

Embedded Systems: (high) first place: Charles Giglio and Jorgen Miller (Urbana)

Energy: Chemical and Physical: (high) honorable mention: Iman Mansoor, Grace Scheirey and Divya Swaminathan (Urbana); (middle) first place: Yashita Thalla (Urbana); second place: Krish Patel (Oakdale); honorable mention: Jade Clarke McKay (Friends Meeting School)

Engineering Mechanics: (high) first place: Charlotte Hively (Urbana); (middle) first place: George Julias (West Frederick); second place: Alexander McCoy (West Frederick); third place: Cora Preda (West Frederick).

Environmental Engineering: (high) first place: Jessica Hart and Zoe Poppert (Gov. Thomas Johnson); second place: Sanjana Subramanian (Urbana); third place: Atul Thomas (Urbana); (middle) tied for first place: Shayon Biswas and Mihir Tanikella (both from Urbana); second place: Mahad Bhinder (Urbana).

Materials Science: (middle) first place: Shloka Tambat and Rachael Thyparambil (Urbana).

Microbiology: (middle) first place: Maanuv Manojj (Urbana); second place: Sanjanaa Viswanathan (Urbana); third place: Riya Khirbat (Urbana).

Physics and Astronomy:(high) first place: Kai Winterle (Walkersville); (middle) first place: Thomas Sova (Middletown); second place: Akhil Neelagiri and Thushan Ranasinghe (Urbana); third place: Zoe Razunguzwa and Regan Ryder (Brunswick).

Plant Sciences: (middle) first place: Nicolas Brown (Urbana); second place Ashley Scott (Ballenger Creek); third place: Joel Prabakaran (Urbana).

Robotics and Intelligent Machines: (high) first place: Anthony Reyna (Tuscarora); (middle) first place: Emmanuel Johnson (Oakdale); second place Jessica Dipita and Priyanka Gupta (Ballenger Creek); third place: Teddy Lackner (Urbana).

Systems Software: (middle) honorable mention: Ved Roychowdhury (Urbana).

Translational Medical Science: (middle) honorable mention: Anushka Sharma (Ballenger Creek).

The high school booklet cover art winner was Gov. Thomas Johnson student Julie Melong. The middle school booklet cover winner was Ballenger Creek student Camille Markoff.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Engage ideas. This forum is for the exchange of ideas, insights and experiences, not personal attacks. Ad hominem criticisms are not allowed. Focus on ideas instead.
Don't threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
No trolls. Off-topic comments and comments that bait others are not allowed.
No spamming. This is not the place to sell miracle cures.
Say it once. No repeat or repetitive posts, please.
Help us. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.