State Senators and Delegates recognized 17 outstanding Maryland middle and high school history scholars at the Maryland State House in Annapolis on Jan. 27. The students were acknowledged for awards or honors they received at the 2019 National History Day competition. In order to participate at the national level, students must place first or second at Maryland History Day, a program of Maryland Humanities. Shelby Williams and Stephen Smith were also recognized for being named the Maryland History Day Middle and High School Teachers of the Year, respectively. Williams teaches at Lockerman Middle School in Caroline County, while Smith teaches at Washington High School in Somerset County.

Maryland History Day is a year-long educational program with more than 25,000 middle and high school student participants that culminates in a statewide history contest. Working solo or in small groups, students create original documentary films, exhibits, performances, research papers, or websites exploring a historical topic of their choice on an annual theme. In 2020, students from all of Maryland’s 23 Maryland counties and Baltimore City will compete at school, district, state, and national levels.

Maryland History Day, coordinated by Maryland Humanities since 1999, is open to public, private, parochial, and homeschool students in grades six through 12. This year’s Maryland History Day state competition will take place May 2 at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County. The theme of the competition is Breaking Barriers.

The annual National History Day competition involves more than 3,000 students from 50 states plus the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, and international schools in China, Korea, and South Asia. The competition occurs at the University of Maryland, College Park annually with this year’s dates June 14 to 18. Support for Maryland History Day is provided by the State of Maryland through the Maryland State Department of Education, Thalheimer-Eurich Charitable Fund, Old Line Bank, Columbia Gas of Maryland, Venable Foundation, and Wegmans.

Area honorees include Levi Peterson, a home-schooler in Frederick County; Addie Skillman, Hannah Chan, Phoebe Chan, Serena Goyal, Ellie Hasegawa and Joseph Heitzmann, of Howard County; and Joey Huang, Aidan Goldenberg-Hart, Charles Shi, Daniel Greigg and Eli Protas, of Montgomery County. Student honorees were also from Anne Arundel, Calvert, Caroline, Somerset counties and Baltimore City

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Engage ideas. This forum is for the exchange of ideas, insights and experiences, not personal attacks. Ad hominem criticisms are not allowed. Focus on ideas instead.
Don't threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
No trolls. Off-topic comments and comments that bait others are not allowed.
No spamming. This is not the place to sell miracle cures.
Say it once. No repeat or repetitive posts, please.
Help us. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.